Most efficient way to deal with 3G modems in Ubuntu

It’s been a while since the last time I wrote on my blog. Today I thought I should talk about the issues met when using 3G USB modems on Ubuntu (Linux distros generally) since I noticed that it annoys many people because they don’t work properly.

Some years ago I came up with a small workaround to this problem when I encountered it for the first time. I used usb_modswitch to properly recognise the device. Then I wrapped it in a script and started distributing it to my friends. Soon, I realized that this wasn’t a solution, it did work sometimes, but it wasn’t efficient.

So I started digging deeper to find alternative solutions, and I’ve seen the “sakis3g” project. This project, seemed immature for me in the first time, is script which uses usb_modswitch mainly to make these devices switch from mass storage mode to modem mode. After more releases of this project, it have been becoming more efficient and stable. I tried it on many machines and it worked on all cases so far.

Installing Sakis3g

there are 2 available options to get sakis3g working on your machine:

Compiling sakis3g

To compile sakis3g , we need to get the source code from github and compile it. This is done using these commands:

git clone https://github.com/trixarian/sakis3g-source.git
 cd sakis3g-source
 mkdir build
 ./compile
 sudo cp build/sakis3gz /usr/bin/sakis3g

 Installing from PPA

getting packages from PPAs saves up a great deal of time and effort. I found a ppa that holds sakis3g even for the latest release of ubuntu (saucy). To add the ppa and install sakis3g:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:darklordpaunik8880/darksmsaucy
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install sakis3g

Here we go, sakis3g is now installed

Using Sakis3g

I will not go through command lines anymore, since saki3g offers us a nice graphical interface to use it. But to enable this interface we need to one last command

sudo sakis3g desktop

this command will create a launcher on the desktop. Go ahead and launch it, I’m pretty sure you will know how to use it 😉

Sakis3g Screenshot
Sakis3g Screenshot

I would recommend not to configure connection through sakis3g since it’s a bit buggy, make a new broadband connection from your network manager and use sakis3g just to switch you modem, then connect using the previously created configuration.

Don’t forget to share 🙂

6 thoughts on “Most efficient way to deal with 3G modems in Ubuntu

  1. When ubuntu fail to recodnize my modem Huawei E220, then I logged a defect after so much of a discussion one suggested to use Mobile Partner until a fix is issued. Mobile partner worked for me most of the time. But I always prefer to enable internet through ubuntu top right connectivity menu. Will tryout above suggested tool as well.

    Thanks,
    Chamila.

  2. Weird… from time to time I’ve been using 3g modem for last few years. Never had any issue with it, using Ubuntu and Linux Mint. Only problem I encountered was when I inserted another USB modem with other SIM. It automatically tried the wrong password and I had to enter the PUK code.

Leave a comment